top of page

ISP License Registration

Updated: Dec 14, 2022

In today scenario, Internet is a basic need of everyone. We can see use of Internet in all areas like Schools, Colleges, Corporate, Hospitals, Banks, and Government Offices Etc. Internet is a very important thing in everyone’s life, It has made life very simple.

Initially Government of India, Department of Telecommunications (DOT) started to provide Internet services or all telecom related services in India by Videsh Sanchar Nigam Limited. On later stage as demands get increase, Government of India has opened up the doors for Private Sector’s as well.

Now Private Sector’s Company can also apply for Internet Service Provider (ISP) Licence. This license is commonly known as Unified License (UL). Private Sector Company’s can apply for ISP license for different areas under Unified License. It is mandatory for Company to have Unified License for providing ISP services for a certain area. One Company can acquire only one Unified License (UL), but can also apply for more than one ISP Authorization for other areas. Although validity of all Authorization shall be till the validity of Unified License (UL).

ISP Registration Process

  • Preparation & Submission of Documents

15 to 20 Days

  • Submission of LOI Compliance

15 to 20 Days

  • Issuance of Letter of Intent (LOI)

60 to 90 Days

  • Signing of Final Agreement

15 to 20 Days

ISP License Categories


(National Area) This license is for Pan India operations.

To see a list of all Nation Area license holders in India click here


(Telecom Circle/Metro Area)

class B license is issued for a total of 20 major states or any of the following Metro Cities – Mumbai, New Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru, Pune, Hyderabad and Ahmedabad.

The govt keeps issuing notifications regarding territories declared as telecom circles and metro areas from time to time. To know more about the Telecom Circles and Metro Areas in India click here


(Secondary Switching Area)

This license is for only a particular secondary switching area. A secondary switching area is a government defined territory which could comprise of several small villages, towns or even districts. A class C license holder will have access to any 1 particular SSA only, unless he applies for multiple authorizations under one unified License.

To know more about the secondary switching areas in India, click here.

Naturally, a Class A ISP license would be quite expensive, followed by Class B & C respectively.

To know more about it and customize your solution, you can write a mail